The national curriculum lays down what should be taught to children during compulsory schooling from Y1 to Y13 (ages 5yrs – 16yrs). There are slight differences for each key stage, but the subjects taught in primary schools are as follows:

The following four subjects are known as the “core” subjects and should have more time devoted to them than the others.

  • English; this includes the national literacy strategy (see below), speaking and listening and drama.
  • Mathematics; this includes the national numeracy strategy (see below).
  • Science;
  • Information and Communications Technology (ICT);

These subjects are known as “foundation” subjects.

  • Design Technology;
  • History;
  • Geography;
  • Art & design;
  • Music;
  • PE;
  • RE;
  • PHSE

Lostock Hall also uses the flexibility within the taught curriculum to offer enrichment activities which are designed to extend and deepen children’s learning. There are opportunities to allow all our children the chance to succeed. In addition, we offer a broad range of after school clubs.

Please see attached some files which detail the topics/objectives that each class will be covering this academic year.  These are intended to be a guideline as to what the children will be covering and there may be changes to to the order in which they are taught.  If you require any further informatin regarding the curriculum please contact the office.

Files to Download

Mallard Crescent, Poynton, Stockport, Cheshire. SK12 1XG

Our Latest Tweets